“The Lord Reigns” – The Praise Band

IMG_6023If you lived in Northern Virginia in the late 70’s and early 80’s, you might have run into a unique Christian ministry to young adults known as “Saturday Night Alive.” Hundreds of people gathered on Saturday Night at the Meeting Place of Church of the Apostles in Fairfax to hear inspired teaching about God’s loving reign in Jesus, the Christ. The Rev. Renny Scott of Church of the Apostles and The Rev. Benny Phillips of Fairfax Community of Believers provided the teaching.  “The Praise Band,” provided the heartfelt and spirited songs for worship. This album was recorded 35 years ago!

Many people can trace their first awakenings to the loving reign of God in Christ through the teaching and joyful singing they experienced on those Saturday Nights.  They were indeed alive with the irresistible presence of the Holy Spirit.

“The Lord Reigns” is a collaboration of song writing and performances from the following musicians:

  • Rick Flint – guitar, vocals
  • Rick Lord – guitar vocals
  • Debbie Lord – vocals
  • Christopher Lutyk – bass, vocals
  • Nora Lutyk, vocals
  • Bill Miller, drums
  • Suzanne Moore – flute, vocals
  • Michael Moore – organ, piano
  • Shereé Phillips – vocals
  • Benny Phillips – vocals


1 reply
  1. Tom Schach
    Tom Schach says:

    I seem to have misplaced my copy of this album. My original was vinyl, later replaced with a cd. Still find myself looking for this one every now and then….a marvelous collection of worshipful praise! Looking for a replacement. Never get tired of it.

Comments are closed.